Experiencing Change: Researcher Jargon

IMG_8393

Now that residency has come to an end,  I have noticed my vocabulary changing, expanding more so, into the abyss of researcher jargon.

When I started on campus, I didn’t know anyone, it was a completely foreign experience for me and I was nervous. On top of that, I had NO IDEA what a lot of my professors or peers were talking about. Thank goodness for my iPhone as I was constantly on Google (how connectivist of me), searching the meaning of words being used that I had either never used before, or never even heard of.

Some of the words that made my head spin included:

pragmatic

underpinning

epistemology

theoretical frameworks

cultures of inquiry

paradigm

empirical 

I felt COMPLETELY vulnerable in this area and blogging about it now, showcasing that vulnerability online, is terrifying. Heide Estes (2012) explains this well, stating that “blogging helps me to bring together aspects of my academic and non-academic lives, as well as to start thinking about issues that will eventually get my academic attention but where I’m still working out ideas in a more casual forum” (p. 974). ABSOLUTELY! I have been a blogger for a few years now with my career, however; I have always been very confident with what I post. Being in a new space now where I can casually express my ideas, thoughts, and opinions regarding academia and how I understand it, is nerve-wracking and a very exciting change. I feel confident knowing that blogging is a space to grow, to learn, and to showcase who I am and who I am becoming in this scholarly journey. It is true what Kathleen Asselin (2008) says, “blogging is changing the way people communicate and blogging is a leading example of how modern communications is being affected” (p. 79).

~ Kim

References

Asselin, K. (2008). Blogging: The remediation of academic and business communications (Order No. 1452706). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (304449817). Retrieved from https://ezproxy.royalroads.ca/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/304449817?accountid=8056

Estes, H. (2012). Blogging and academic integrity. Literature Compass, 9(12), 974-982. doi:10.1111/lic3.12017

 

Leave a Reply

